Kōrero: Wellington region

Victoria University

Victoria University

Wellington was the last of New Zealand’s major cities to build a university. Established in 1897, and named after Britain’s reigning monarch, Victoria College was initially a night school. In 1906 it moved into a new building in Kelburn, shown here around 1908. As the university grew, new wings were added. In 1959 the structure was named the Hunter Building, after Thomas Hunter, an early professor. In 1974 it was declared an earthquake hazard and plans were made to demolish it. Supporters protested, and convinced the university to keep it. It was strengthened and is now the university’s administrative centre.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: PAColl-8458

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Chris Maclean, 'Wellington region - Arts and culture', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/ephemera/13393/victoria-university (accessed 23 May 2022)

He kōrero nā Chris Maclean, updated 1 Aug 2015