Kōrero: Penguins

Penguins of the New Zealand region

The six species in the top half of this chart breed on New Zealand’s mainland or offshore islands. Four of these are endemic, found nowhere else – the yellow-eyed, Fiordland crested, Snares crested and erect-crested penguins. The remaining three species breed in the region of Antarctica administered by New Zealand.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Artwork by Bruce Mahalski

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Lloyd Spencer Davis, 'Penguins - New Zealand’s penguins', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/diagram/6382/penguins-of-the-new-zealand-region (accessed 24 February 2024)

He kōrero nā Lloyd Spencer Davis, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006, reviewed & revised 11 Jul 2016