Kōrero: Ants

Parts of an ant

Parts of an ant

An ant has four body parts: head, mesosoma, waist and gaster. The head has mandibles (pincer-like jaws), antennae and compound eyes. The three pairs of legs are joined to the mesosoma. The waist consists of one or two segments between the mesosoma and gaster. The gaster is tipped with a sting in some species, while in others it can spray acid.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Artwork by Bruce Mahalski

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John Early, 'Ants - What are ants?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/diagram/12800/parts-of-an-ant (accessed 4 July 2022)

He kōrero nā John Early, i tāngia i te 24 Sep 2007, updated 3 Aug 2015