Kōrero: Soils

Inorganic soil materials

Inorganic soil materials

Soils usually contain inorganic material of three sizes: sand, which ranges in diameter from 0.2 to 2 millimetres; silt, between 0.02 and 0.002 millimetres in diameter; and clay, which is less than 0.002 millimetres. Most soils have some of each. Soils with a large proportion of each component are called loams.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Allan Hewitt, 'Soils - Soil features', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/diagram/12279/inorganic-soil-materials (accessed 24 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Allan Hewitt, i tāngia i te 24 Sep 2007