Story: Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi

Tiriti o Waitangi sheets: Cook Strait (8th of 9)

Click on the 'Previous' and 'Next' arrows above to see all nine Tiriti o Waitangi – Treaty of Waitangi sheets

Missionary Henry Williams carried this treaty sheet on board the schooner Ariel to Te Whanganui-a-Tara or Port Nicholson (later named Wellington), where he collected 34 signatures. He added 40 more at Tōtaranui (Queen Charlotte Sound) and Rangitoto ki te Tonga (D’Urville Island). The powerful chief Te Rauparaha signed at his island of Kāpiti, and others signed at Waikanae, Ōtaki, Manawatū, Whanganui and Motungārara (a small island off Kāpiti Island). A total of 132 rangatira signed this treaty sheet.

Read more about the people who signed this sheet.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi - Interpretations of te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 29 November 2023)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 28 Mar 2023 with assistance from Claudia Orange