Story: Treaty of Waitangi

Tiriti o Waitangi sheets: East Coast (8th of 8)

Rev. Henry Williams's brother William, also a missionary, carried this treaty sheet overland up the East Coast from his mission station at Tūranga (later renamed Gisborne). He first collected 25 signatures at Tūranga, then several more at each of Ūawa (Tolaga Bay), Waiapu and Tokomaru Bay. In total 41 chiefs signed this sheet, but the paramount chief of the East Coast, Te Kani-ā-Takirau, declined to do so.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Treaty of Waitangi - Interpretations of Te Tiriti o Waitangi', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 6 October 2022)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012