Story: Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi

Treaty of Waitangi sheets: the Herald (7th of 9)

Click on the 'Previous' and 'Next' arrows above to see all nine Tiriti o Waitangi – Treaty of Waitangi sheets

A British army officer, Major Thomas Bunbury, carried this treaty sheet on board HMS Herald to Coromandel (where four rangatira signed it), the Mercury Islands (two) and a series of South Island ports (16). On 17 June 1840, he proclaimed British sovereignty over the South Island at Port Underwood in the Marlborough Sounds.

Major Bunbury then gained the signatures of rangatira Te Rauparaha and Te Rangihaeata off Mana Island, near Kāpiti (although Te Rauparaha explained that he had already signed the sheet presented to him by Henry Williams). Finally, Bunbury obtained the signatures of three Hawke’s Bay rangatira near Ahuriri (present-day Napier). In total, 27 rangatira signed this sheet.

Read more about the people who signed this sheet.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi - Interpretations of te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 18 July 2024)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 28 Mar 2023 with assistance from Claudia Orange