Story: Waikato region

Māori and English queens (2nd of 2)

Māori and English queens

Queen Elizabeth II and Dame Te Atairangikaahu are flanked by Prime Minister Jim Bolger (left) and Treaty Settlements Minister Doug Graham at Government House in Wellington on 3 November 1995. On that day, Queen Elizabeth gave the royal assent to the Waikato Raupatu Claims Settlement Act 1995.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Dominion Post Collection (PAColl-7327)
Reference: EP/1995/4375B/33A-F
Photograph by John Nicholson

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Nancy Swarbrick, 'Waikato region - Te Kīngitanga, 1880 onwards', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 December 2023)

Story by Nancy Swarbrick, updated 1 Jul 2015