Story: Taranaki region

Parihaka, 1880s (1st of 2)

Parihaka, 1880s

The Māori settlement of Parihaka, surrounded by lahar mounds inland of Cape Egmont, was established by Te Whiti-o-Rongomai and Tohu Kākahi in the late 1860s. After government survey teams moved into the lands north of the Waingongoro River in south Taranaki, the people of Parihaka began a campaign of passive resistance in 1879, erecting fences across road lines and ploughing Pākehā farmers’ paddocks. So many were arrested and held without trial that an embarrassed government decided on military action.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/4-002570-F
Photograph by Burton Brothers

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ron Lambert, 'Taranaki region - Māori–Pākehā conflict', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 December 2019)

Story by Ron Lambert, updated 1 Aug 2015