Story: Taranaki region

Mt Taranaki stamp (3rd of 7)

Mt Taranaki stamp

Between 1901 and 2009 Mt Taranaki (then also known as Mt Egmont) appeared on 25 different postage stamps. Few topographic features achieve such coverage. This $1.50 stamp was issued in 2006.

Using this item

New Zealand Post
Reference: 2006 Tourism stamp issue
Photograph by Fay Looney

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ron Lambert, 'Taranaki region - The mountain', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 11 December 2023)

Story by Ron Lambert, updated 1 Aug 2015