Story: Wellington region

Three arms of government (2nd of 2)

Three arms of government

The central government took part of the reclaimed land for itself. In 1876 it put up a four-storey building (at right) to house the public service and the executive. Known as Government Buildings, it was originally designed to built of stone, but wood was used to save money. Just to the left and surrounded by trees is Parliament Buildings. In 1881, a new Supreme Court opened opposite Government Buildings (centre left). This scene shows the three arms of government: executive, Parliament and judiciary.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/2-005775; F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Chris Maclean, 'Wellington region - From town to city: 1865–1899', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 26 June 2024)

Story by Chris Maclean, updated 1 Aug 2015