Story: Waikato region

Waikato landforms

The alluvial basins of the Waikato, Waipā, Piako, Waitoa and Waihou rivers are the dominant landform in Waikato. Hill country separates the Waikato–Waipā lowland from the west coast. Smaller hills divide it from the Thames valley – the area drained by the Piako, Waitoa and Waihou rivers. In the south-east the region extends to the western edge of the Volcanic Plateau.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Nancy Swarbrick, 'Waikato region - Landscape and climate', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 28 November 2023)

Story by Nancy Swarbrick, updated 1 Jul 2015