Story: South Canterbury region

South Canterbury landforms

The map shows the four main landforms of South Canterbury: the plains of the Rangitātā and Waitaki rivers; the coastal rolling country, or downlands; the inland basins of the Mackenzie Country and the Ōpuha and Hakataramea rivers; the hills and mountains of the inland ranges and Southern Alps.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Wilson, 'South Canterbury region - Landscape and geology', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 7 December 2021)

Story by John Wilson, updated 1 Feb 2017