Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




Southland is the southernmost region of New Zealand and its most productive parts are the plains which extend approximately from the Waiau River in the west towards the provincial boundary which in the east reaches the coast near Waikawa. The plains are contained within the limits of Southland and Wallace counties, whereas Lake county is mountainous, including some of the southernmost ranges of the Southern Alps. Strictly, the limits of Southland are confined to the area covered by these three counties; but to complete the account given in the statistical tables Fiord and Stewart Island counties have been included, though they are discussed elsewhere. Invercargill (Urban Area population, 41,088, 1961) is the largest city of the region which had a total population in 1961 of 96,835 (4 per cent of the national population) of which 1.32 per cent were registered as Maoris.


Samuel Harvey Franklin, B.COM.GEOG., M.A.(BIRMINGHAM), Senior Lecturer, Geography Department, Victoria University of Wellington.

Auaina ake: Landscape Pattern