Story: King Country region

Ōtorohanga native township map

In 1903 the settlements of Kāwhia, Ōtorohanga, Te Kūiti and Taumarunui were designated native townships. This allowed the government to proclaim new towns on Māori land and make sections available to European settlers, thus speeding up settlement even though the sections were not freehold. From 1910 town sections could be sold.

This is the map of Ōtorohanga native township produced to publicise the sections available for lease in 1904. Zoom in for details of leases and street names, which commemorate Ngāti Maniapoto leaders and ancestors, and notable Pākehā figures of the day.

Using this item

Auckland City Libraries - Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero, Sir George Grey Special Collections
Reference: NZ Map 3687

Permission of Auckland City Libraries Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'King Country region - Government and politics', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 December 2023)

Story by Kerryn Pollock, updated 1 Mar 2015