Story: King Country region

District boundary sign

District boundary sign

Since 1989 the King Country has encompassed the Ōtorohanga and Waitomo districts and most of Ruapehu district (the part which made up most of the pre-1989 Taumarunui district). This boundary sign is on Matiere Road.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photograph by Kerryn Pollock

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'King Country region - Government and politics', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 December 2023)

Story by Kerryn Pollock, updated 1 Mar 2015