Story: Catholic Church

Bishops and dioceses

This poster from 1997 shows the six dioceses or regions that made up the Catholic Church in New Zealand. It also shows bishops who have headed each diocese since it was formed. The Bishop of Wellington is also the archbishop, or overall head, of the church in New Zealand.

Using this item

New Zealand Catholic Bishops Conference

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rory Sweetman, 'Catholic Church - The Catholic Church in the 21st century', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 May 2022)

Story by Rory Sweetman, published 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 17 Jul 2018