Story: Te reo Māori – the Māori language

Te Wānanga o Raukawa

Te Wānanga o Raukawa is one of three indigenous wānanga (Māori tertiary education institutions) in New Zealand. The other two are Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi and Te Wānanga o Aotearoa. The Raukawa wānanga arose out of the joint efforts of a tribal confederation of Te Āti Awa, Ngāti Raukawa and Ngāti Toarangatira.  In 1975 the Raukawa marae trustees had developed Whakatupuranga Rua Mano, a plan to upskill tribal members in cultural aspects.

Using this item

Te Wānanga o Raukawa

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rawinia Higgins and Basil Keane, 'Te reo Māori – the Māori language - Ongoing work, 1980s to 2000s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 July 2024)

Story by Rawinia Higgins and Basil Keane, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Sep 2015