Story: Māori rugby – whutupaoro

Gold medal at the Commonwealth Games

In 1998 the New Zealand sevens team won gold for New Zealand by beating Fiji in the final. The team included a number of players who had represented (or would represent) New Zealand Māori, including Dallas Seymour (Ngāti Hikairo), Caleb Ralph (Te Arawa) and Christian Cullen (Ngāi Tahu).

Using this item

TVNZ Television New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm Mulholland, 'Māori rugby – whutupaoro - Rugby sevens and touch rugby', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 23 July 2024)

Story by Malcolm Mulholland, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jan 2015