Story: Māori rugby – whutupaoro

Inter-regional Māori rugby trophies

Inter-regional Māori rugby trophies

Trophies awarded for Māori rugby inter-regional tournaments in the 2010s included, left to right, the Manny MacDonald Challenge Cup, the George Nepia Trophy and the Prince of Wales Cup. 

Using this item

New Zealand Rugby Union

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm Mulholland, 'Māori rugby – whutupaoro - Flaxroots rugby – club and provincial level', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 26 September 2020)

Story by Malcolm Mulholland, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jan 2015