Story: Waikato region

Savile Cup polo final (2nd of 2)

Two Waikato polo teams – Morrinsville and Cambridge – competed in the final for the Savile Cup in 1949. There is a long tradition of equestrian sports in the Waikato region.

Using this item

Archives New Zealand - Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga
Reference: Weekly Review 399. National Film Unit, 1949

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Nancy Swarbrick, 'Waikato region - Sport and tourism', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 December 2023)

Story by Nancy Swarbrick, updated 1 Jul 2015