Story: Gender and sport

Netball New Zealand board members, 2013 (1st of 2)

Netball New Zealand board members, 2013

In 2013, five out of eight members of the Netball New Zealand board were women, and the board was chaired by a woman, Raewyn Lovett. Clockwise from bottom left are Raelene Castle (also chief executive of Netball New Zealand), John Bongard, Carol Maddix, Shirley Hooper, Karen Brown, Lee Piper, Sheryl Wells (president of Netball New Zealand and not a board member), Suri Bartlett and Raewyn Lovett. Raelene Castle went on to be chief executive of Australian rugby league club the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, Rugby Australia and Sport New Zealand. 

Using this item

Netball New Zealand
Photograph by Michael Bradley

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Sally Shaw, 'Gender and sport - Gender and sports administration', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 October 2021)

Story by Sally Shaw, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jun 2016