Story: Māori rugby – whutupaoro

Te Aute rugby team

Te Aute rugby team

This is the Te Aute College rugby team in 1920, the first year of the Moascar Cup for secondary-school rugby teams. Te Aute won the cup for the first time in 1925.  A newspaper report of one of the games played by the 1920 team gave their names as  Pine (captain), Peina (vice captain), Haitana, Tahiwi, McPherson, Chambers, Matamua, Thompson, Walker, White, Wirimu, Bennett, Tibble, Chisley and Reihana; emergencies: Coates, Sparks and Ruawai.  Mr Scully, a master of the college, managed the team.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, H. N. Whitehead Collection (PAColl-3068)
Reference: 1/1-004676-G
Photograph by Henry Norford Whitehead

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm Mulholland, 'Māori rugby – whutupaoro - Flaxroots rugby – club and provincial level', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 April 2024)

Story by Malcolm Mulholland, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jan 2015