Story: Whanganui region

Taranaki–Wellington province boundary

Taranaki–Wellington province boundary

The traditional boundary between Whanganui and Taranaki was the former provincial boundary, which crossed State Highway 3 between Waverley and Pātea. However, since 1989 Waverley and neighbouring areas have been within South Taranaki district.

Using this item

Private collection
Photograph by Diana Beaglehole

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Diana Beaglehole, 'Whanganui region - Government', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 15 June 2024)

Story by Diana Beaglehole, updated 1 Jun 2015