Story: Security and personal safety

Safe communities (1st of 2)

Safe communities

By 2016, 24 New Zealand communities or cities had received the designation ‘Safe Communities’. To achieve this status communities (usually through city councils) must demonstrate through their policies and actions that they are committed to achieving a safer environment.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Carl Walrond, 'Security and personal safety - Safer cities', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 3 December 2023)

Story by Carl Walrond, published 5 May 2011, updated 1 Aug 2017