Story: Nation and government

The New Zealand provinces, 1867 (1st of 2)

The New Zealand provinces, 1867

Under the system of government set up for New Zealand in the 1850s, there was both a central government and six provincial governments. Each province had its own elected council and superintendent. The three original provinces in the North Island were Auckland, Taranaki and Wellington. Hawke’s Bay broke away from Wellington in 1858.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: MapColl-830cba/1867/Acc.6568
Map by W. & A. K. Johnston

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

John Wilson, 'Nation and government - From colony to nation', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 April 2024)

Story by John Wilson, updated 1 Sep 2016