Story: Waikato region

Waikato local government

For more than a century, Waikato territorial local government consisted of a number of county (rural) and borough (town) councils. In 1989 district councils which embraced both were established. A new district, South Waikato, was created, and the former Raglan county was divided between Waikato and Franklin districts. In 2010 the southern part of Franklin district was incorporated in Waikato district and the northern part joined the enlarged Auckland city. Environment Waikato (Waikato Regional Council) was also set up in 1989. Its territory included the whole of the Waikato region shown here, as well as Thames–Coromandel, Hauraki, Taupō and the northern King Country.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Nancy Swarbrick, 'Waikato region - Politics and social change', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 December 2023)

Story by Nancy Swarbrick, updated 1 Jul 2015