Story: Hawke’s Bay region


The descendants of Kahungunu and his fourth wife, Rongomaiwahine, populated Wairoa, Hawke’s Bay and Wairarapa, making up the three strands of the iwi. Rongomaiwahine was an illustrious figure in her own right, and the people of Māhia Peninsula identify as Ngāti Rongomaiwahine rather than Ngāti Kahungunu. She is the central figure depicted in the lintel above the entrance to the Kahungunu ki Nūhaka marae.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photographs by Shirley Williams

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Hawke’s Bay region - Māori settlement and occupation', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 5 December 2021)

Story by Kerryn Pollock, updated 1 Jul 2015