Story: Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi

Tiriti o Waitangi sheets: Waitangi, 6 February 1840 (1st of 9)

Click on the 'Next' arrow above to see all nine Tiriti o Waitangi – Treaty of Waitangi sheets

Zoom in to read details of the original version of te Tiriti o Waitangi (the Treaty of Waitangi}, signed by 43 rangatira at Waitangi, in the Bay of Islands, on 6 February 1840. The missionary William Colenso noted that ‘not many chiefs of first rank’ signed at Waitangi. However, Lieutenant-Governor William Hobson regarded this original signing as the ‘de facto’ treaty. Later signings were simply seen as confirming it. This treaty sheet was signed at eight further locations and eventually more than 213 signatures were collected on it.

Read more about the people who signed this sheet.

(Quoted in Claudia Orange, The Treaty of Waitangi. Wellington: Allen and Unwin, 1987, p. 56)

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi - Interpretations of te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 July 2024)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 28 Mar 2023 with assistance from Claudia Orange