Story: Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi

Women signatories to te Tiriti o Waitangi

Te Tiriti o Waitangi (the Treaty of Waitangi) was signed by women of mana as well as male chiefs. Roll over the place names on this map to see some of these signatures. Since they were not yet literate, the women signed by drawing a version of their moko (facial tattoo) on the treaty.

The female rangatira known to have signed te tiriti (there may have been others) were:

  • Takurua (Waitangi, 6 February 1840)
  • Te Marama (Waitangi, 6 February 1840)
  • Ana Hamu (Waitangi, 6 February 1840)
  • Hoana Riutoto (Waikato Heads, 11 April 1840)
  • Te Wairākau (Waikato Heads, 11 April 1840)
  • Rangi Topeora (Kāpiti, 19 April 1840) 
  • Te Kehu (Kāpiti, 19 April 1840)
  • Marama (Kaitāia, 28 April 1840)
  • Ereonora (Kaitāia, 28 April 1840)
  • Kahe Te Rau-o-te-Rangi (Port Nicholson, 29 April 1840)
  • Pari (Rangitoto, 11 May 1840)
  • Ngāraurekau (Waikanae, 16 May 1840)
  • Rere-ō-Maki (Whanganui, 23 May 1840)
Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi - Creating te Tiriti o Waitangi – the Treaty of Waitangi', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 April 2024)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 28 Mar 2023 with assistance from Claudia Orange