Story: Australia and New Zealand

New South Wales includes New Zealand

This is a copy of the formal commission under the Great Seal which extended the limits of the colony of New South Wales to include New Zealand. This occurred on 15 June 1839 and represented the first formal claim by the British to authority over New Zealand.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Philippa Mein Smith, 'Australia and New Zealand - Shared colonial history', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 May 2024)

Story by Philippa Mein Smith, published 20 Jun 2012