Story: Australia and New Zealand

Map of Australasia

This map, published in Surrey, England, in 1863 gives one view of Australasia as consisting of Australia, Van Diemen's Land (Tasmania) and New Zealand. Earlier maps extended the territory to include New Guinea and Pacific islands such as Fiji.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: MapColl 800a/[1863?]/Acc.43774

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Philippa Mein Smith, 'Australia and New Zealand - Shared colonial history', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 June 2024)

Story by Philippa Mein Smith, published 20 Jun 2012