Story: Rugby union

International test results

This table shows New Zealand’s results against the major rugby-playing countries up to 2014. The All Blacks have won three-quarters of their test matches against these countries. By far the toughest opponent has been South Africa, followed by Australia. There have been more games played against Australia and South Africa, in large part because the Tri-Nations competition between the three countries was in place from 1996 until 2012. In the Tri-Nations New Zealand won 10 times, while South Africa and Australia each won three times. New Zealand won the Rugby Championship, also involving Argentina, in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ron Palenski, 'Rugby union - International rugby – southern hemisphere', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 December 2023)

Story by Ron Palenski, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Sep 2016