Story: Tirikātene-Sullivan, Tini Whetū Marama

Five women members of Parliament

Five women members of Parliament

Whetū Tirikātene-Sullivan with four other female Labour MPs in 1981. Left to right: Margaret Shields (MP for Kāpiti), Mary Batchelor (Avon), Whetū Tirikātene-Sullivan (Southern Māori), Fran Wilde (Wellington Central), Ann Hercus (Lyttelton). Helen Clark became the MP for Mt Albert after that year’s election.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

How to cite this page:

Helen Brown. 'Tirikātene-Sullivan, Tini Whetū Marama ', Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, first published in 2018. Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 6 February 2023)