Story: Te Ara – a history

Te Ara's awards

Te Ara's awards

Since going live in 2005, Te Ara has won a number of awards. Clockwise from top left are: certificate as a finalist in the World Summit Awards 2005; non-fiction winner at Ngā Kupu Ora Māori Book Awards (2011); Bearing Point awards for innovation in services to Māori and in the public service (2005); a Govis Buzzie award (2006); the Bearing Point trophy; WriteMark award for best plain English website in the public sector; and a certificate as an official honorée in the 2006 Webby awards. 

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

the Te Ara team, 'Te Ara – a history - Users, responses and influence', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 7 December 2021)

Story by the Te Ara team