Story: Māori weaving and tukutuku – te raranga me te whatu

Types of flax

Types of flax

The two main varieties of New Zealand flax are (left) Phormium tenax – harakeke or swamp flax – and Phormium cookianum – wharariki or mountain flax. Harakeke has stiff leaves and grows mainly in lowland swamps. Wharariki has softer leaves and is found on mountain slopes and coastal cliffs. 

Using this item

Landcare Research – Manaaki Whenua
Photographs by Robert Lamberts and Sue Scheele

© Copyright image. All rights reserved. Permission from Manaaki Whenua: Landcare Research New Zealand Limited must be obtained before the re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kahutoi Te Kanawa, 'Māori weaving and tukutuku – te raranga me te whatu - The art of te whare pora', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 April 2024)

Story by Kahutoi Te Kanawa, published 22 Oct 2014