Story: Arts funding and support

First Arts Foundation laureates

First Arts Foundation laureates

The Arts Foundation’s first awards recognised New Zealand arts laureates. Each year an independent panel drawn from the arts community selects the five people who will get the award. Shown here is the first group of laureates (awarded in 2000). From left: Peter Peryer (photographer), Elizabeth Knox (writer), Gillian Whitehead (composer), Briar Grace-Smith (playwright) and Douglas Wright (dancer and choreographer).

Using this item

Arts Foundation

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Martin Durrant, 'Arts funding and support - Private support for the arts', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 11 August 2022)

Story by Martin Durrant, published 22 Oct 2014