Story: Māori rugby – whutupaoro

New Zealand Māori league team, 1983

New Zealand Māori league team, 1983

This photo of the New Zealand Māori team to tour the United Kingdom was taken at Ngāruawāhia, the centre of the Kīngitanga (Māori King movement). Seated at  front centre is Māori Queen Te Arikinui Te Atairangikaahu. The head of the Kīngitanga has been the patron of Māori rugby league since the establishment of the Māori rugby league board in 1934. The team is (back row, from left): Nolan Tupaea, Pat Poasa, Riki Cowan, Russell Tuuta, Owen Wright, Hugh McGahan, Kevin Schaumkell and Richard Bolton (trainer and masseur), (middle row) Cedric Lovett, Dean Bell, Mark Roiall, Dick Uluave, Tom Waitai, Joe Ropati, Lou Kupa, Trevor Clark and Charles Paki, (front row) Clayton Friend, Tom Newton (manager), Andy Berryman (coach), Ron O'Regan (vice-captain), Dame Te Atairangikaahu (patron), Ian Bell (captain), Bob Kerr (kaumātua), Maurie Anderson (manager) and Nick Wright. Absent were Anthony Murray and Bill Kōmene (assistant manager).

Using this item

Private collection, Richard Bolton

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm Mulholland, 'Māori rugby – whutupaoro - Māori rugby league, 1970s to 2000s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 April 2024)

Story by Malcolm Mulholland, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jan 2015