Story: Māori rugby – whutupaoro

New Zealand Māori team, 1921 (2nd of 4)

New Zealand Māori team, 1921

This is the New Zealand Māori team that played against the Springboks in 1921. It was captained by Parekura Tureia (Ngāti Porou) and managed by Ned Parata (Ngāi Tahu). A team list printed in a newspaper at the time states:

The following team will represent the New Zealand Maoris in the match with the Springboks at Napier tomorrow:

Full-back, T. Kuru; three-quarters, J. Blake, Barclay, Tapsell; five-eighths, Tureia and Peina; half-back, Mill; rover, Jacobs; forwards, Mitai, Kororiko, B. Gemmell, Grace, Garlick, Broughton, Te Whata. Reserves: Edwards, M. Blake, Tangitu, Carroll, and Ormond.

Using this item

New Zealand Rugby Museum
Reference: 96.285.5

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm Mulholland, 'Māori rugby – whutupaoro - Rugby union, 1910s to 1930s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 September 2020)

Story by Malcolm Mulholland, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jan 2015