Story: Golf

Eisenhower Trophy team, 1992

Eisenhower Trophy team, 1992

The triumphant New Zealand team hold up the Eisenhower Trophy in 1992, when they won the event in Vancouver, Canada. From left are coach Grant Clements, Michael Campbell, Stephen Scahill, Grant Moorehead and Phillip Tataurangi. The team came from two shots behind on the final day to defeat the Americans, who had traditionally dominated the event. The Eisenhower Trophy, a biennial world amateur men's team event, began in 1958 and is named after former US president Dwight D. Eisenhower, a keen amateur golfer.

Using this item

New Zealand Golf

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Garry Ahern, 'Golf - Changing face of golf', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 29 November 2022)

Story by Garry Ahern, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Sep 2016