Story: Horse and greyhound racing

New Zealand Racing Authority, 1972

New Zealand Racing Authority, 1972

The New Zealand Racing Authority, established in 1972, was the precursor of the New Zealand Racing Board, which in 2012 oversees horse racing, trotting and greyhound racing, and betting on these events. Members of the authority are shown at their inaugural meeting in Wellington in August 1972. Sitting (from left) are: E. G. Mitchell, H. G. F. Callam (chair), Allan Highet (Minister of Internal Affairs), R. J. Rolfe and R. A. Whyte. Standing (from left) are: W. G. Quirk, G. C. Cruickshank, M. B. Smythe, P. J. O'Dea and J. C. Pollock.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Dominion Post Collection (PAColl-7327)
Reference: EP/1972/3737

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mary Mountier, 'Horse and greyhound racing - Growth from the 1880s', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 December 2023)

Story by Mary Mountier, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Nov 2015