Story: Olympic and Commonwealth games

The sevens team, Melbourne, 2006 (1st of 2)

The sevens team, Melbourne, 2006

Rugby sevens has been a Commonwealth Games sport since 1998, and by 2018 the New Zealand team had won gold in the event five times. In this photograph, the team performs a victory haka after placing first at the Melbourne Commonwealth Games in 2006.

Using this item

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 170306NZHBPCWG146.JPG
Photograph by Brett Phibbs

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Joseph Romanos, 'Olympic and Commonwealth games - Commonwealth Games stars', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 26 July 2024)

Story by Joseph Romanos, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jun 2023