Story: Tōrangapū – Māori and political parties

The Young Māori Party

The Young Māori Party

The Young Māori Party was not an organised political party but an affiliation of like-minded individuals. Clockwise from top left are four key figures: James Carroll (Ngāti Kahungunu), Apirana Ngata (Ngāti Porou), Māui Pōmare (Ngāti Mutunga, Ngāti Toa) and Te Rangi Hīroa, also known as Peter Buck (Ngāti Mutunga). The last three, along with other members, had attended Te Aute College in Hawkes Bay. The older Carroll was a mentor for the group. All four men were eventually knighted in recognition of their public service.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/2-050150-F (top left); 35mm-00094-D-F (top right); 35mm-00094-e-F (bottom left); 1/1-014583-G (bottom right)

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Ann Sullivan, 'Tōrangapū – Māori and political parties - Creating a Māori electoral system', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 July 2024)

Story by Ann Sullivan, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 18 Jul 2016