Story: Treaty of Waitangi

Later Māori MPs

Later Māori MPs

A new generation of able bilingual Māori members of Parliament such as (clockwise from top left) James Carroll, Apirana Ngata, Māui Pōmare and Peter Buck (Te Rangi Hīroa) held considerable social and political prominence in the early 20th century. This was taken as proof, especially by many non-Māori, that Te Tiriti o Waitangi had either been fully implemented or was no longer relevant.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/2-050150-F (top left); 35mm-00094-D-F (top right); 35mm-00094-e-F (bottom left); 1/1-014583-G (bottom right)

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Claudia Orange, 'Treaty of Waitangi - Implementing the treaty – 1900 to 1940', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 May 2022)

Story by Claudia Orange, published 20 Jun 2012