Story: Multilateral organisations

ASPAC, 1970

ASPAC, 1970

ASPAC – the Asian and Pacific Council – was the first exclusively Asian multilateral organisation New Zealand joined. Representatives are shown here meeting in Wellington in 1970. New Zealand was a founding member in 1966; also involved were Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, South Vietnam, Thailand, Australia, Malaysia, Singapore and the Philippines. In contrast to other multilateral organisations in the region, ASPAC did not include the United States, but all the members were allies of the US and none was non-aligned or communist.

Using this item

Archives New Zealand – Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga
Reference: ABGX W4969 7574 2(b) P17965

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rod Alley, 'Multilateral organisations - Size and remoteness', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 April 2024)

Story by Rod Alley, published 20 Jun 2012