Story: Commissions of inquiry

Report of the Royal Commission on Social Policy

Governor-General Sir Paul Reeves with a new report on social policy.

The team of the 1986–88 Royal Commission on Social Policy deliver their report to Governor-General Sir Paul Reeves (second from right). They are (from left) Ros Noonan, Len Cook, Ann Ballin, Mason Durie and Marlon Bruce, and chair Ivor Richardson (right). With six members, the commission was the largest after 1980 and produced a hefty report: four volumes in five bound books, weighing nearly 6 kilograms.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, Dominion Post Collection (PAColl-7327)
Reference: EP/1988/1939

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Alan Simpson, 'Commissions of inquiry - Conducting inquiries', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 22 May 2022)

Story by Alan Simpson, published 20 Jun 2012