Story: State-owned enterprises

New Zealand Post and Kiwibank (2nd of 5)

New Zealand Post and Kiwibank

In April 1987 the New Zealand Post Office was split into three separate companies – Telecom, Postbank and New Zealand Post. Each company was set up as a state-owned enterprise. Postbank was sold to ANZ Bank in 1989, and Telecom was bought by a consortium in 1990. New Zealand Post remained a state-owned enterprise. In 2002 it launched Kiwibank, which opened in existing New Zealand Post branches. This is the branch in Manners Street, Wellington.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Photograph by Emily Tutaki

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rob Laking, 'State-owned enterprises - What are state-owned enterprises?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 17 June 2024)

Story by Rob Laking, published 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2015