Story: Diverse Christian churches

New Zealand Lutherans: Danish Sunday school, 1891 (2nd of 4)

New Zealand Lutherans: Danish Sunday school, 1891

Hans Hansen (left), superintendent of the Sunday school at the Danish Lutheran school in Mauriceville West, north of Masterton, stands with pupils and parents in 1891. Ditlev Monrad, a bishop of Denmark's Lutheran Church and the country's former prime minister, migrated to New Zealand in 1865 and settled in Manawatū. Other Danish Lutherans followed and founded Norsewood, Dannevirke, Mauriceville and other towns in the Seventy Mile Bush, in northern Wairarapa and southern Hawke's Bay.

Using this item

Palmerston North City Library
Reference: 2007P_Mv38_RTL_0838

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mark Derby, 'Diverse Christian churches - Lutheran, Dutch Reformed and Brethren churches', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 13 April 2024)

Story by Mark Derby, published 5 May 2011, reviewed & revised 20 Apr 2018