Story: Ngā hāhi – Māori and Christian denominations

Three Anglican archbishops

Three Anglican archbishops

The three co-equal tikanga, or cultural streams, of the New Zealand Anglican Church are represented by its three archbishops – (from left) the Most Reverend William Brown Turei, Te Pihopa o Aotearoa; the Most Reverend David Moxon, archbishop of the dioceses; and the Most Reverend Jabez Bryce, archbishop of Polynesia. They are singing at the opening of the synod, or church council, in St Paul's Cathedral, Dunedin, in 2007.

Using this item

Otago Daily Times
Reference: 21 July 2007, p. 4
Photograph by Craig Baxter

Permission of the Otago Daily Times must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Hirini Kaa, 'Ngā hāhi – Māori and Christian denominations - Anglican Church', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 20 June 2024)

Story by Hirini Kaa, published 5 May 2011, updated 1 Mar 2017