Story: Whānau – Māori and family

Triplets Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe

Triplets Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe

These identical triplets are Ruapehu, Tongariro and Ngauruhoe Rivers. The picture was taken at Te Tii marae in Waitangi on 4 February 2006. Their names are from the three famous maunga (mountains) within the Tongariro area on the Volcanic Plateau. Often Māori children's names link them to their tribal area.

Using this item

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 040206HOSNMWAITANGI12.JPG
Photograph by Nigel Marple

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Tai Walker, 'Whānau – Māori and family - Whānau, whakapapa and tribal structure', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 12 April 2024)

Story by Tai Walker, published 5 May 2011, updated 1 Jun 2017